Report

A report on the XXXII Annual Conference of the Indian Association for Angiosperm Taxonomy (IAAT) and the National Symposium on The Contribution of Angiosperm Diversity to Human Wellbeing and the Risks Associated with its Decline

The XXXII Annual Conference of the Indian Association for Angiosperm Taxonomy (IAAT) and the National Symposium on The Contribution of Angiosperm Diversity to Human Wellbeing and the Risks Associated with its Decline was organized by Karnatak Science College, Dharwad from 11 to 13 November 2022. The Symposium was inaugurated by Prof. K.B. Gudasi (Vice Chancellor, Karnatak University, Dharwad). The inaugural function was presided over by Prof. G.G. Maity (President IAAT). The Organizing Secretary of the IAAT Conference, Dr. K. Kotresh (Professor, Department of Botany, Karnatak Science College) introduced the programme and welcomed the participants. The programme started with the lamp lighting ceremony. Prof. Santhosh Nampy (Secretary IAAT) summarized the objectives and activities of the organization. Prof. (Retd.) C. Kameswara Rao (Department of Botany, Bengaluru University) released the Abstract volume. Prof. R.R. Rao, Prof. C. Kameswara Rao, Dr. M. Sanjappa, Prof. A.K. Pandey, Prof. S.R. Yadav, Prof. T. C. Taranath and Dr. S.C. Chougala felicitated the gathering. The Key note address was delivered by Prof. R.R. Hanchinal (former Vice Chancellor, University of Agricultural Sciences, Dharwad).

About 350 participants from all over India participated the Symposium. There were two gold medal lectures, one endowment lecture, twelve lead lectures, six competition (awards) for best presentations under various categories: Prof.



Prof. K.B. Gudasi (Vice Chancellor, Karnatak University, Dharwad) delivering the inaugural address during the XXXII IAAT Conference

Rolla S. Rao Award in Biodiversity Conservation (Angiosperms), Prof. K.S. Manilal Award in Floristics, Prof. T.R. Sahu Award in Medicinal Plant Systematics, Prof. S.R. Yadav Award in Poster Presentation, Fr. Antony Mukkath- K.S. Manilal Award in Modern techniques in Plant Taxonomy and Prof. M. Sabu Award in Angiosperm Taxonomy (for teachers and scientists), followed by oral and poster presentations by the delegates under various themes: 1. Phyto-diversity and its documentation (25), 2. Floristics, Nomenclature, Taxonomic Revisions and Monographs (19), 3. Ethnobotany, Traditional Knowledge on Medicinal plants, and Bioprospecting (38), 4. Phytogeography, Endemism and Conservation (6), 5. Bioystematics, Phylogeny, Pollination and Plant-Animal Interactions (1), 6. Impact of invasive alien species on native flora, 7. Indian Laws pertaining to Forest, Environment and Wildlife, 8. Poster presentation (18).

Prof. Y.D. Tiagi Medal Award Lecture was delivered by Prof. A.K. Pandey (Vice Chancellor, Mansarovar Global University, Bhopal) on the topic "My journey from Floristics to Genomics". Prof. V.V. Sivarajan Gold Medal Lecture was delivered by Dr. W. Arisdason (Botanical Survey of India, Coimbatore) on the topic "The Anamalai Hills: A floristically underestimated micro-endemic centre of southern Western Ghats, India". Prof. Chavali Kameswara Rao Endowment Lecture was delivered by Prof. (Retd.) M.K. Janarthanam (Goa University) on the topic "Connecting the bright patches of



Release of the abstract book of the XXXII IAAT conference

100 Report



Felicitating senior members (from left, Dr. N. Sasidharan; Dr. Archana Banerjee) and organizing secretaries of XXX and XXXI conferences (from left, Dr. Waman Mohan; Dr. Mathew Dan).

fragmented landscape of Plant Systematics in India". Lead lectures were delivered in each parallel session in three days symposium which were, 'Fossil history of Angiosperms' by Prof. C. Kameswara Rao; 'The end of classical plant taxonomy? Can biological sciences survive without classical taxonomy?' by Dr. R.R. Rao; 'Delimiting species boundaries in Indian Pancratium (Amaryllidaceae): An unresolved problem' by Prof. S.R. Yadav; 'Taxonomic revision of the genus Smithia Aiton (Leguminosae: Papilionoidea-Dalbergeae-Aeschynomeninae)' by Dr. M. Sanjappa; 'Plant diversity in India: Status, distribution and conservation – A review' by Dr. A.G. Pandurangan; 'The role of wild Balsams in decorating the Western Ghats, India' by Dr. Jomy Augustine; 'Ethnomedicine and traditional knowledge' by Prof. T.C. Taranath; 'Analysis of leaf shape variation in Convolvulaceae using Elliptic Fourier Descriptors' by Dr. Vinay M. Raole; 'Flora of Sikkim: A comprehensive account of Angiosperms' by Dr. Debabrata Maity and 'Botanical investigations related to some Archaeological sites from Maharashtra' by Prof. M.M. Sardesai.

Six awards namely Prof. K.S. Manilal Award, Dr. Rolla S. Rao Award, Prof. T.R. Sahu Award, Fr. Anthony Mukkath–Prof. K.S. Manilal Award, Prof. M. Sabu Award, Prof. S.R. Yadav Award are given at every annual conference for the best paper/ poster by the IAAT. Following is the list of awards and awardees of this year's conference:

Prof. K.S. Manilal Award for best paper in Floristics (New Species/ New Reports): Mr. Vishnu Mohan (University of Calicut, Kerala).

Dr. Rolla S. Rao Award for best paper in Biodiversity Conservation: Ms. Smrithi Vijayan (Agharkar Research Institute, Pune)

Prof. T.R. Sahu Award for best paper in Ethnobotany and Medicinal plants: Mr. Patturaj R. (University of Transdisciplinary Health Science



IAAT award winners (from left, Dr. Kumar Vinod Chhotupuri Gosavi ; Mr. Vishnu Mohan; Mr. Patturaj R.; Mr. Rejeesh E.P; Mr. Arun Prasanth; Ms. Smrithi Vijayan) with dignitaries.

and Technology, Bengaluru).

Fr. Anthony Mukkath–Prof. K.S. Manilal Award for best paper in Modern techniques in Plant Taxonomy Mr. Rejeesh E.P. (University of Calicut, Kerala).

Prof. S.R. Yadav Award for best poster: Mr. Arun Prasanth (Savitri Phule Pune University, Pune).

Prof. M. Sabu Award for best paper in Angiosperm Taxonomy (for teachers and scientists): Dr. Kumar Vinod Chhotupuri Gosavi, HPT Arts & RYK Science College, Nashik).

A joint meeting of the Executive Council and Rheedea Editorial Board was held on 11.11.2022 and the General Body meeting of the IAAT took place on 12.11.2022 at Karnatak Science College. The valedictory function took place on 13 November 2022. Eminent persons from the field of plant systematics were present on this event. Prof. G.G. Maity (President IAAT) chaired the function. Dr. S.C. Chogala (Principal, Karnatak Science College), Dr. (Smt.) D.M. Singh (Head, Department of Botany), and Prof. Santhosh Nampy (Secretary IAAT were present on the dais. Organizing Secretary Dr. K. Kotresh briefed the proceedings of three days symposium. Prof. Santhosh Nampy announced the name of the winners for the six awards, which were presented during the valedictory function. The symposium received immense positive response from research scholars, delegates, students, and senior scientists. Dr. (Smt.) D.M. Singh expressed the vote of thanks. The three day symposium was well covered by both local and national media.

> Dr. K. Kotresh Organizing Secretary, XXXII Annual Conference of IAAT and National Symposium